Public Relation Class Reflection

16004673686_e02acdb9d4_z Photo Credit: Flickr.com |by: Anke Merckx

My personal experience of attending a Public Relation course was very beneficial to me. I am a Communication Major with a concentration of Media Studies. I have a career goal to be apart of a News Production crew either on camera or behind the scenes. So it is good for me to gain the basic knowledge of Public Relations. Let me give you a recap of how PR went for me.

The TEXTBOOK: Lets just say that our Professor was better than the textbook. I am a visual and hands on learner. The text book was referenced throughout the course, but it was not until a few weeks left in the semester where we were actually tested on the book. The course would succeed without the text book when you have Professor Mullen. She knows her stuff, so maybe she could just rewrite the textbook.

The ASSIGNMENTS: The assignments that were assigned throughout this course were beyond worth the grade. I did not know how much work to expect from a PR class. Some of the assignments consist of a Resume, Cover Letter, Campaign Strategies, Press Releases, Blog Post, (of course) and Linked in Connections. All of these assignments helped me on a personal level to be prepared for a future career in telecommunications. The only thing that I struggled with to keep up with was the Linked IN connections. It became tedious and extra with making it a requirement to connect with professionals who are not willing to reach back out and connect with me. Do not get me wrong! NETWORKING is key to a future career, but being graded on connections was not my favorite.

This Public Relation course was a great experience for me. I feel more confident about submitting my Resume and Cover Letter, which was my favorite part of the course. The professor gave great feedback, and graded the assignment hard. I believe we covered enough beneficial material within this class. I recommend it to all Communication and Business majors.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Blogs by Ra'Leshia Davis

Mullen's PR Class

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.